Council 17 May 2022

**Present:** Councillor Jackie Kirk (in the Chair),

Councillor Debbie Armiger, Councillor Biff Bean, Councillor Alan Briggs, Councillor Chris Burke, Councillor Sue Burke, Councillor Bob Bushell,

Councillor Liz Bushell, Councillor Martin Christopher, Councillor David Clarkson, Councillor Thomas Dyer, Councillor Gary Hewson, Councillor Rosanne Kirk,

Councillor Jane Loffhagen,

Councillor Rebecca Longbottom, Councillor Bill Mara, Councillor Adrianna McNulty, Councillor Ric Metcalfe, Councillor Neil Murray, Councillor Donald Nannestad, Councillor Lucinda Preston, Councillor Hilton Spratt, Councillor Mark Storer, Councillor Rachel Storer,

Councillor Edmund Strengiel, Councillor Naomi Tweddle,

Councillor Pat Vaughan, Councillor Calum Watt, Councillor Joshua Wells, Councillor Emily Wood and

Councillor Loraine Woolley

**Apologies for Absence:** Councillor Matthew Fido and Councillor Clare Smalley

#### 1. <u>To Elect the Mayor for the Ensuing Year</u>

On the nomination of Councillor Gary Hewson and seconded by Councillor Lucinda Preston it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Rosanne Kirk be elected as Mayor of the City of Lincoln for the ensuing year. Councillor Kirk made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Oath of Allegiance. The newly elected Mayor then returned thanks for her appointment.

(The Mayor [Councillor Rosanne Kirk] took the Chair)

#### 2. To Appoint the Sheriff for the Ensuing Year

It was moved by Councillor Sue Burke, seconded by Councillor Chris Burke and

RESOLVED that Jasmit Kaur Phull be appointed Sheriff of the City of Lincoln for the ensuing year. The newly appointed Sheriff made and subscribed the Declaration of Office, took the Oath of Allegiance and returned thanks for her appointment.

## 3. To Appoint the Deputy Mayor for the Ensuing Year

Upon the announcement of the Mayor it was

RESOLVED that Councillor Biff Bean be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the ensuring year.

### 4. To Receive Notification of the Appointment of the Mayor's Chaplain

The Mayor notified the Council of her appointment of Canon Edward Jarosz VG of St. Hugh's Roman Catholic Church in Lincoln as her Chaplain for the ensuing year.

## 5. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

It was moved by Councillor Rebecca Longbottom, seconded by Councillor Jane Loffhagen and

RESOLVED that the thanks of the Council be accorded to the retiring Mayor for the manner in which she discharged her duties during her period of office.

#### 6. Vote of Thanks for the Retiring Sheriff

It was moved by Councillor Ric Metcalfe, seconded by Councillor Donald Nannestad and

RESOLVED that the thanks of the Council be accorded to the retiring Sheriff for the manner in which he discharged his duties during his period of office.

# 7. <u>To Appoint to Committees and Advocacy Roles</u>

It was moved, seconded and

#### RESOLVED

- (1) That the schedule of appointments to the Executive be noted.
- (2) That the schedule of appointments to Committees and Sub-Committees; Chairs and Vice-Chairs; and Advocate Roles for 2022/23 be approved.